A nephew of Elbridge Fifield, who owned the first lumberyard in Janesville, George Fifield was a prominent doctor in Janesville. Born here in 1872, he opened up his own practice in 1896 after attending medical school at Northwestern University. His son Thomas continued the legacy of the family and became an attorney in the Milwaukee area.
The style of this home is very unique to the Janesville area. Built in 1928, it is an example of the Tudor Revival architecture. Based off of sixteenth century English medieval designs, important features include the use of timber and stone around entry ways, as well as pitched roofs.