Newland House Museum
The Newland House Museum is an 1898 farmhouse in a midwestern adaptation of a Queen Anne architectural style, listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is the oldest and best-preserved house in Huntington Beach and was home to pioneers William Taylor and Mary Juanita DeLapp Newland. The Newland House Museum is open for tours on the first and third weekends of the month.
Backstory and Context
During the early years, water was obtained from a natural spring near the present day intersection of Adams Avenue and Beach Boulevard. William Newland later developed a water well closer to the house and constructed a water tower. The water tower behind the Newland House was reproduced in the 21st Century by the Huntington Beach Historical Society.
The Huntington Beach Historical Society is responsible for the maintenance and improvements of the Newland House Museum. The Museum is open on the first and third weekends of the month, between noon and 4 p.m.
Urashima, Mary. Newland House: Saving Our Pioneer History. Historic Huntington Beach. September 23, 2017. Accessed March 15, 2018. http://historichuntingtonbeach.blogspot.com/2017/09/newland-house-saving-our-pioneer-history.html.
Jepsen, Chris. Newland House (1898), Huntington Beach. O.C. History Roundup. June 19, 2008. Accessed March 15, 2018. http://ochistorical.blogspot.com/2008/06/newland-house-1898-huntington-beach.html.
Marsh, Diann. Huntington Beach, The Gem of the South Coast. Heritage Media Corporation, 1999.