The Old Post Office building is one of most striking examples of Romanesque Revival architecture in Maine. Built in 1890 after four years of construction, the post office served as a testament to the growing importance of Augusta. By that time, it was a booming publishing town as it was the headquarters for William Gannett's Comfort magazine, which had a circulation of a million subscribers by 1892. The post office operated until 1960 when a new building was constructed. Fortunately, the building was not torn down and was sold to a private owner leased it out as office and business space. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974.