Burnt Coat Harbor Light
Burnt Coat Harbor Light is a historic lighthouse located at the southern tip of Hockamock Peninsula on Swan's Island, Maine. It was built in 1872 and the oil and bell houses were added in 1895 and 1911, respectively. The tower stands 75 feet tall and the light can be seen 9 nautical miles away. The lighthouse was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988. Today, it still an functioning light and is owned by the U.S. Coast Guard. The Friends of Burnt Coat Harbor Light operates it as a museum during the summer and visitors can tour the buildings and climb up the tower. Visitors can take a ferry to the island (check the website for details).
Burnt Coat Harbor Light was built in the late 19th century and can be seen from nine miles away.
Backstory and Context
By the time the lighthouse was built, Burnt Coat Harbor was a bustling commercial center and fisherman and others complained of the difficulty of navigating into the harbor. As a result, the lighthouse was constructed. It was automated in 1975.
http://www.burntcoatharborlight.com/about-us.html. Retrieved 11-3-15. Kirk F. Mohnev. "Burnt Coat Harbor Light," National Park Service - National Register of Historic Places. 1-21-88.