Beaufort Arsenal Museum & Beaufort History Museum
The Beaufort Arsenal Museum was constructed in 1795 and the brick and tabby building was completed in 1799. The museum’s exhibits also feature various historic artifacts that “represent Native American settlements, the earliest 16th-century Spanish settlement, Union occupation during the Civil War and 20th-century phosphate mining, truck farming, fishing, shrimping and oystering industries” (“Discover”). Also housed in the arsenal building is the Beaufort History Museum celebrates and honors the history of Beaufort, South Carolina. In 1939, construction for the museum was approved and it was chartered as a museum that has been open to the public ever since.
Backstory and Context
The city of Beaufort took ownership and responsibility of the Beaufort History Museum's collection in 1990, and again in 2008 after the museum was under the Historic Beaufort Foundation from 2001-2008.