Constructed in 1926, the Young-Quinlan Building was home to Young-Quinlan Department Store. The store originally began in 1894 as a small specialty women’s dress shop, the first ready to wear shop of its kind and was owned and operated by Elizabeth Quinlan and Fred D. Young. The building, which continues to a retail and office building, was designated a Minneapolis Landmark in 1988.
After Young passed away in 1911, Quinlan wanted to expand
their store and consulted with several department store owners and managers in
America’s biggest cities. Quinlan hired
New York architect Frederick L. Ackerman to design the Young-Quinlan building,
an extremely unique construction as each of the 4 facades were designed as
equally attractive as the front and adorned with “arched windows, columnns and
decorative elements giving each side the appearance of being the entrance side
of the building” (“Young-Quinlan Building”).
The building’s “interior has a marble
staircase, crystal chandeliers, and metalwork of iron, brass, bronze, and
pewter” (“Young-Quinlan Building”). Another innovative feature of the building was
its inclusion of a parking garage. While
being innovative for its time, the department store still held on to high-class
hospitality by housing the last elevator in the city to still use an elevator