In 1892, a Lutheran congregation was established in downtown Charleston. Then, in 1914 construction began on the existing church. Finished in 1916, construction was done by Weber, Werner, and Adkins, a company from Cincinnati, Ohio.
The building on Lee & Beauregard streets is built in the impressive Gothic Style and made of beautiful limestone. It includes a sanctuary, parlor, and several private rooms, and boasts a variety
of stained glass—although it is known for its St. Paul window, much of
its 6,000 pieces are made with Blenko glass, and dark wooden vaulted
ceilings. On November 24, 2013, the dwindling Lutheran congregation held its last church service and moved to a new location. Riverview
Presbyterian Church now owns the historic property and holds services here.
Walking Tour Guide of Charleston's Historic East End
"Presbyterians Plan to Buy Lutheran Church in Charleston," Charleston Gazette, May 22, 2014. http://www.wvgazette.com/article/20140522/GZ01/140529681