This museum is still in its planning stages, with boosters hoping to create a museum which will show the history of quarrying of stone and manufacturing of stone products and the relationship of this industry to the larger narrative of American history. The museum's main objective is to preserve the history Quincy's granite production for future generations.
Within the museum there are preserved walls of the Lyon's
Turning Mill, dating back in the 1894. It was added to the National Register of
Historic Places on September 25, 1980. This mill, when it was in operation, was using giant lathes to turn granite and other kinds of stone into columnns,
spheres, and works of art. The Quincy Quarry Railroad runs through the center
of the museum which was built at the same time as the mill. The management of
the museum is planning to establish a replica of typical stone shed operation
and blacksmith’s shop at the site, and also to include demonstrations of stone splitting
and stone cutting. Visitors can see photos of the artifacts related to the
granite industry in the virtual museum.