Tryon Palace and North Carolina History Center
Tryon Palace was the site of the first sessions of the general assembly for the State of North Carolina following the revolution and housed the state governors until 1794. In 1798, fire destroyed the original Palace building. An extensive 30-year campaign to rebuild the Palace and restore the grounds was launched by the people of New Bern, state leaders, world craftsmen, and generous, dedicated citizens such as Mrs. James Edwin Latham. Their efforts led to the triumphal reopening of the Palace in 1959. Today, the Palace lives as a museum and educational center.
Backstory and Context
The Pepsi Family Center transports visitors through time, from the very formation of the coastline to the people who shaped the history of this region. The Duffy Exhibit Gallery, the Cullman Performance Hall, Lawson’s Landing: A Riverwalk Café, and the Museum Store complete the experience.