Located in Delaware County, NY. Hanford Mills Museum is initial known as Kelso Mill. This area including a historic grist mill, saw mill and national historic district. The historic district contains nine contributing buildings and three contributing structures. Since 1846, the mill site was in operation. However, the mill closed in 1967 and dedicated as a museum. In 1973, it was listed on the State and National Registers of Historic Places. The Hanford Mills Museum has become one of tourism attractions of Delaware County, NY. Come and visit there to learn more about the history of Hanford Mill and discover "The Power of The Past"
Hanford Mills Museum in East Meredith, New York as viewed from across its en:Mill pond
A photograph of the millhouse at the Hanford Mills Museum, East Meredith, NY.
Wooden covers for butter tubs awaiting shipping at the Hanford Mills Museum in East Meredith, New York
en:Line shaft belt repair device at Hanford Mills Museum. Belts may be repaired by cutting away the area around the tear and then using this device to create a patch from shorter section of another belt.
Running water-powered en:Line shaft at Hanford Mills Museum.
Backstory and Context
Since 1846, the old mill on Kortright Creek
has been in operation. This is known as the water-powered mill which named
after David Josiah Hanford. David Hanford became the owner of the mill in 1860, Hanford mill’s
operation was expanded into rural industrial complex contained sawmill,
gristmill, feed-mill, woodworking shop and hardware store. Among these functions, in 1898, the mill harnessed the
waters of Kortright Creek and produced the electric power to the surrounding
community. This is one of important functions of Hanford Mill. Over the time,
the Hanford Mill also took advantage from the steam and gasoline engines to
power the mill and electric dynamo to produce the electric power.
In 1967, the Hanford Mill closed its business. Shortly after
closing, the mill was re-opening and dedicating as Hanford Mill Museum.
The phrase of “ The Power of The Past” is the descriptive
slogan for the 19th century Hanford Mill. Hanford Mill Museum has provided
visitors an opportunity to learn how important of this phrase is in rural of
New York Community and to see an authentic mill in operation progress. Today,
the historic site “16 buildings and maintains a substantial collection of over
50,000 items, including photographs, documents, machinery, tools and other objects” (1),
this is one of unique stops in New York’s Path Through History
"ABOUT HANFORD MILLS MUSEUM- History of Hanford Mills" HanfordMills. Retrieved MAr 17, 2015 from http://www.hanfordmills.org/about-hanford-mills-museum/history-of-hanford-mills-museum/
(1) "DELAWARE COUNTY | UNIQUELY NEW YORK". wskg. Retrieved Mar 17, 2015 from http://www.wskg.org/PTH/Delaware